Notaries Act

Act of 3 April 1999 containing the statutory rules governing the office of notary. 

In the unofficial translation (pdf, 800 kB) you can read more about the rules for:

  • Title II. Office, powers, appointment and discharge of a notary
  • Title III. Exercising the office of notary
  • Title IV. The assigned notary
  • Title V. The instruments, originals, execution copies and other copies
  • Title VII. The notarial archives
  • Title VIII. The Royal Dutch Association of Civil-law Notaries (KNB)
  • Title IX. Disciplinary law and supervision
  • Title IXa. The Notarial Pension Fund
  • Title X. Transitional and concluding provisions

You can find the statutory rules governing the office of notary in Dutch on the website